Making Paste Papers: Part Two

Paste papers drying

If you haven’t read part one yet, you can find it here Making Paste Papers: Part One.

Once I’m happy with the way my paste paper looks, it’s time to let it dry. I transfer it to another nonporous surface (and clean up the one on which I made the paste paper). To save space, I set up a drying rack in the bathroom to hold the paste papers on their drying boards (see above photo). Why the bathroom? Because the bathroom floor is linoleum. Cleaning colored paste off a carpet is not easy, just take my word for it!

While the papers are drying, I have to regularly lift up each paste paper to make sure it doesn’t adhere to its drying board. Failure to do this results in a ruined paste paper, which is just one more reason why I prefer making them in the summer. The drying time, as well as the constant checking and lifting of each paste paper, is a lot shorter than at any other time of year.

If you’ve ever had to dry out a piece of paper, you know that it warps as it dries. Paste papers are no different; once dry they need to be ironed flat. I like to iron them on a wooden board, with a piece of an old sheet on both sides of the paste paper. This protects both my iron and the board from getting color or paste on them, just in case. I use a dry iron, and I iron both sides of the paper.

Two books I made which have paste paper covers.

Now, I’m finally ready to make art with my paste papers. I originally made paste papers for bookbinding, either as end sheets or as covers for books. Now I use them for all kinds of paper crafts, and I keep finding more!

Three boxes made out of paste paper.

If you are interested in learning more about paste papers, my favorite book on the subject is The Art of Making Paste Papers by Diane Maurer-Mathison. It’s currently out of print, but you can find it on Amazon for around $40 used. That’s pretty expensive for a paperback, but it’s the best book on making paste papers that I’ve ever come across.

Enjoy, Candy

8 responses to “Making Paste Papers: Part Two

  1. this is great! the patterns are extremely beautiful. 🙂

  2. Love the colours and textures on your paste papers, and especially love the book covers! Have you tried using GladBake under your papers to stop them sticking when they’re drying? I use it a lot; very useful stuff … =D

    • I never heard of GladBake. I will have to check it out. I do love to play with color. As I ironed my latest paste papers I covered one wall in my studio/gallery with them. I took photos which I will show in a future post. They do show lots of color and texture. I’m kind of sorry that the summer is over because I would love to do more experimenting with my paste papers.

  3. Pingback: Making Paste Papers: Part One | paperandbooks

  4. Pingback: Framables™ – Beautiful Greeting Cards Designed To Be Framed | paperandbooks

  5. Pingback: Framables™ – Beautiful Greeting Cards Designed To Be Framed » Art Matters!

  6. Pingback: DIY Decorative Gift Container | paperandbooks

Leave a Reply

