A Dozen Handmade Boxes For Valentine’s Day

A dozen tiny handmade Valentine Boxes made from my handmade paste papers. I think these are much more original than a dozen roses!

 

A dozen red roses are a common gift for Valentine’s Day. I am not a fan of roses. I much prefer local grown flowers which are not in abundant supply at this time of the year in Oregon. It was below freezing this morning when I got up. Spring may be just around the corner, but the flowers have not come to life quite yet.

I got to thinking about what I could substitute for a dozen roses. With my recent 50 boxes for a 50th Wedding Anniversary (see my previous post), I got to thinking about a dozen tiny boxes for Valentine’s Day and here is the result. I made a large heart out of card stock to put put the boxes on and make them look more festive.

The contents in the photo below are not the ones I will be giving to my sweetheart. I go for more health options, which these obviously aren’t. These do, however, make for a great looking colorful photo. My sweetie will be getting tiny heart carrot cakes (his favorite, and it doesn’t have sugar or eggs), some other homemade goodies and a few love notes.

Just like the boxes for the 50th Wedding Anniversary, these boxes are tiny, just a little over an inch square. They are made with my handmade paste papers. I make paste papers each summer when the weather is warm so that they can dry quickly.  I will include a post or two this summer when I make my yearly supply of paste papers.

Enjoy, Candy

Here are the boxes opened. The treats here are not healthy and will be replaced with more healthy options when given to my sweetie.

Leave a Reply

